Greatist Risk Week 1 Round Up

So I finished my first week of the 30 Day Take A Risk challenge and overall I really enjoyed the experience!

Certainly I got out of my comfort zone and felt resistance and frustration but I achieved everything I set out to do and I’m really pleased with that – usually I would just back out if I felt uncomfortable doing something and wouldn’t think much more about it. But knowing I wanted to write about this challenge each week actually pushed me to not give up before I really had a chance to start.


Day 1 – Say Hi to a Stranger

I actually went a step further with this one and tried starting conversations with people. Not a big thing for most people but as an introvert I really struggle talking to people I don’t know and starting a conversation fills me with fear.

So I warmed up by chatting with my new physio and hairdresser. Both professionally inclined to chattiness they were lovely and helped to get me in the right frame of mind for talking to new people.

When I got to work I made a point of looking for natural opportunities for me to start talking to people and 2 popped up almost as soon as I walked through the door. It’s funny how opportunity arises when you allow yourself to be open to it. The experiences were both positive and this is a challenge I will try to keep up every day as it’s something I know I need to improve on, not only to grow personally but also for my business.


Day 2 – Go on an Adventure Date

So for those following the Greatist calender you’ll know this one should actually be go on a blind date. However, my other half didn’t look wildly impressed by this one when I mentioned it, so I decided we could go on an adventure date together. Originally we had planned on going slack lining (Google it) as it involves a high risk of falling (my biggest physical fear) and looking like an utter twit.

However, good old British Summer weather made this impractical so we settled on ice skating instead, which holds just as many opportunities for me to fall over. I never really felt the need to actually learn how to skate so at best I can pull myself along the sides of the rink, maybe making the occasional venture away but always quickly retreating to safety.

I was determined not to do that this time and with a lot of help from Mr FTHOI I did manage to stay away from the edge for pretty much the whole session and even skated without clinging to his hand for a while.

Evidence that I did in fact skate on my own.
Evidence that I did in fact skate on my own.

We ended up having a really good time together; it got us out of the house and doing something active which is important to us both and it was nice to be able to share the experience with him.


Day 3 – Start a project you don’t think you can finish.

For this one I decided to start knitting. I know a lot of people who knit and have always liked the idea of being able to have a little hobby that I could do just sitting on the sofa whilst relaxing in the evening.

And then I actually attempted to knit. My first attempt was with my mum a couple of months ago and as she’s a fairly accomplished knitter she seemed like the best person to teach me. Boy was I wrong. I got wound up in knots and decided perhaps just watching a YouTube tutorial would be easier. So I took all the bits home with me with the best of intentions to carry on by myself. Since then they have sat in the study, mocking me every time I walk into the room.

So I settled myself in with my knitting and my tutorials, with the aim of learning the basics and then moving on to making a beanie. Because how hard could a beanie be to make?

30 minutes later, I’m about ready to stab someone with the knitting needles and Mr FTHOI has strategically extricated himself from the living room and shut himself away elsewhere. Knitting really brings out my aggressive side – probably because I don’t feel like I can do it and this annoys me.

tumblr_nk39p8shQv1thuqb1o1_1280I’m going to make this beanie, even if it takes me a lifetime. Sheer bloody mindedness has taken over, I will not be beaten by wool and a pair of needles.


Day 4 – Filming a promotional video in London for my business.

This was exciting. I’ve joined a group who will be helping to promote my business and part of what they do is create a video of me talking for potential clients to watch and see how fabulous I am.

Now I’m no stranger to being behind a camera. In front of it however, not so much. When I get nervous I turn a brilliant shade of strawberry and speak faster and faster untilallthewordsblurtogether and my voice gets so high dogs start to whine. Couple that with attempting to remember my answers for the film, I was getting pretty concerned about coming off as a squeaky nut no one can understand.

IMG_2945
Hanging out in Bethnal Green before shooting.

I perhaps shouldn’t have worried so much. When I arrived there were only 3 staff members around. I chatted with one whilst I waited (getting good at this talking to strangers thing) & during the filming it was just myself and the other two. Everyone was lovely and friendly and explained everything that was happening and just did their best to make me feel at ease.

I’d been invited to do the filming a few months back but had allowed myself to get talked out of going and regretted it ever since so I’m really pleased I was able to go and do it this time. I’ve done something that will (hopefully) promote my business a little more, given me experience of being in front of a camera and boosted my confidence.


Day 5 – Go to a party alone

This challenge made me more nervous than any of the others. As I didn’t know anyone who was throwing a party that night I decided instead to go to a bar for a drink after work alone.

I decided to ease myself into this one so chose to go to my favourite bar, which I knew would have people but wouldn’t be heaving. I got myself a cocktail (and didn’t get I.D.ed – a first!!), took myself off to a sofa where I had a good view of the bar and sat for a full half hour sipping my drink. I kept my phone away as much as possible (except to take the obligatory selfie) and just relaxed. Not going to lie, the rum and vodka really helped.

Pacific Punch and a cupcake cushion.
Pacific Punch and a cupcake cushion.

This turned out to be a pleasant evening and I’m glad I decided not to go to one of the packed bars, that would have been too much for me. I got to enjoy this and whilst I’m not likely to do it regularly I feel like I could do it again at a slightly busier time and still feel comfortable with being alone.

IMG_2961
Cheers!

So that’s week one done, on to week 2! Has anyone else been trying this challenge out? Let me know how you got on in the comments below!

 

 

 

Leave a comment