30 Day Challenge: Take A Risk

“When was the last time you did something for the first time?”

I love this quote. When you really stop to think about it, how often do we get to do much of anything (that we actually stand a chance of enjoying) for the first time any more? It’s so easy to slip into a routine and be comfortable – it’s stable, there’s no risk to you physically or emotionally and it’s nice.

Boring, isn’t it?

Every so often (and by that I mean pretty much every week) I get the urge to go and do something – literally anything – new/ different/ exciting, just to get myself moving and living. And yet, more often than not I don’t do anything. I follow my routine. Because it’s easier and I’m too busy to do whatever grand scheme is rolling around in my head and it costs too much and the weather is awful and … and … and …

By the time I’m done with the litany of excuses, I’ve missed my opportunity and I end up doing the same things I always do.

And I know it’s not just me who does this. I’ve met a number of people at the gym who say they’ve been doing the same routine for weeks/months/years and haven’t ever tried anything new (and wonder why they no longer get results). It’s easy to get stuck into a rut and wonder why we aren’t seeing success in whatever it is we are trying to achieve.

It takes being pushed out of your comfort zone to see changes and create success and that’s scary.

So when I found Greatist‘s 30 Day challenge to Take More Risks I knew it was something I had to try. I’ve got goals I want to achieve (keep your eyes on this blog to watch me reach them!) but I know I won’t get anywhere if I keep putting things off because taking the risk is uncomfortable.

The idea is very simple – they have created a calender with a suggestion of a little risk you can try each day. The challenges start small and get a little bit bigger (and occasionally scarier) every day so by the end of the month you’ll have a new found sense of courage and adventure. Well, that’s my idea of what will happen at least.  You can follow their choices or you can change them for your own challenges and you can use the #greatistrisk on social media so you can be held accountable.

I know I won’t be able to do some of the things on the list (I can’t see Mr FTHOI being happy about me going on a blind date and out of a sense of public duty I’ll not subject anyone to me doing karaoke) so I will be changing a few things but for the most part I’m hoping to stick to the list. I’m going to write about how I get on with a summary post at the end of every week to keep me accountable to all of you and ensure I don’t chicken out.

So what do you think? Are you ready to join me and take on this 30 day challenge and get a little bolder, a little more courageous? There’s a printable version of the below image on the Greatist website, I suggest wandering over there and printing off a copy and putting it somewhere you’ll see it every day.

June Challenge Take a Risk Calendar

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

